Glen Rivera – Chosen by Governor Herbert as Board Member

We want to send a huge congratulations to Student of the Year, Glen Rivera!! After careful consideration, Gov. Herbert selected Glen Rivera to serve in the capacity as a Utah Board of Higher Education Board member. He will specifically represent technical education in Utah.

The Utah System of Technical Colleges (UTech) includes eight technical colleges in Utah including: Bridgerland Technical College, Ogden-Weber Technical College, Davis Technical College, Uintah Basin Technical College, Tooele Technical College, Mountainland Technical College, Southwest Technical College and Dixie Technical College.

UTECH will merge with the Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) on July 1, 2020.

USHE oversees the eight degree-granting state institutions, including Dixie State University, Salt Lake Community College, Snow College, Southern Utah University, University of Utah, Utah State University, Utah Valley University, and Weber State University.

The new system will be called the Utah Board of Higher Education. Most of the changes will take place at the system offices. Currently, both UTech and USHE have Boards—the UTech Board of Trustees and the USHE Board of
Regents. Due to the merge, a new Board is being established and made up of 18 people, appointed by the governor with consent from the Senate. The Board includes two student members—one will be a student from a degree-granting institution, and the second is Glen Rivera from Bridgerland Technical College. The students will serve for a one-year term.

The Governor’s Office was impressed with the caliber of all of the nominees submitted. Congratulations to Glen on this great honor!