The Therapeutic Massage program is a comprehensive accredited program that prepares students to be eligible to take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) and become Licensed Massage Therapists in the state of Utah. Based on the principles of Swedish massage and advanced techniques, this program introduces students to basic and advanced manipulative skills, the theory and practices of professional massage therapy, safety precautions, and the professional work habits and behaviors necessary for a successful career in massage therapy. Students will participate in a supervised clinical phase to refine hands-on skills, advance their knowledge and techniques, and build confidence in working with clients. As trained and certified massage therapists, graduates will be able to manipulate the soft tissues of the body — muscle, connective tissue, tendons, ligaments, and skin — as an effective treatment for reducing stress, pain, and muscle tension caused by a wide range of medical conditions and situations.
The minimum requirement for Licensed Massage Therapist certification in the State of Utah is 600 hours. The additional 210 hours in this program provide advanced skills to the students’ training and expertise. Upon completion of the 810-hour program, students will demonstrate their competency in each of the following:
- The analysis and application of the anatomy and physiology of the human body in massage therapy.
- The assessment of clients’ soft tissue condition, joint quality and function, muscle strength, and range of motion.
- The analysis of client medical histories, stress, pain, and/or injury in determining the most effective massage techniques.
- The massaging and kneading of muscles, connective tissue, tendons, ligaments, and skin to provide treatment for medical conditions, injuries, or wellness maintenance.
- The application of advanced massage skills to safely and efficiently adapt massage therapy sessions to individual client needs.
- The use of high ethical standards, codes of conduct, customer service, and clear communication when working with clients.
Massage Therapy Licensing Requirements
The following are requirements for obtaining a Massage Therapy License through DOPL:
- Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
- Obtain the Verification of Completion of a Formal Massage Education Program documenting completion of an approved massage program showing you have completed no less than 600 hours of training.
- Receive a “pass” notification on the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) issued by Pearson Vue.
- Pass the Utah Massage Therapy Law and Rule Examination.
- Applicants must have criminal background checks carried out by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI.
- Pay the nonrefundable application fee.
Students must complete the Medical Terminology course with 80% or higher.
Individuals must be at least 18 years of age to participate in clinical training.
This certificate requires a non-refundable $50 background check fee and a one-time $30 fee for random drug screen(s).
WorkKeys Assessment: Workplace Documents (Level 5), Graphic Literacy (Level 5), and Applied Math (Level 5). Prospective students must successfully complete the basic academic assessment and provide a copy of the Assessment Center letter and score sheet with their completed application. Schedule an appointment here or call (435) 750-3188. Need a review? Enroll directly in Academic Learning.
Please note: A composite ACT score of 17 or a composite SAT score of 930 can waive assessment requirements if taken no more than four years prior to enrollment. Please email your ACT/SAT scores to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Individuals must apply to the program.
- Applications due November 5 for the January cohort
- Applications due April 23 for the June cohort
For additional information on occupational profile, please click here.
The words career and job are very different. To be specific, a job is what you show up to for work; a career spans your lifetime and includes your education, training, professional memberships, and is something you love doing.
The program accepts students twice a year utilizing a competitive application process. The application deadlines are November 5 (for January cohort) and April 23 (for June cohort). Please contact SSA's for questions about this program. The first step is to fill out the application for Bridgerland Technical College Brigham City Branch Campus Application
WorkKeys Assessment: Workplace Documents (Level 5), Graphic Literacy (Level 5), and Applied Math (Level 5). (Please note: A composite ACT score of 17 or a composite SAT score of 930 can waive assessment requirements if taken no more than four years prior to enrollment. ) Prospective students must successfully complete the basic academic assessment and provide a copy of the Assessment Center letter and score sheet with their completed application. Schedule an appointment here or call (435) 750-3188. Individuals must apply for admission into the program.
Bridgerland Technical College participates in a variety of assistance programs that aid students in covering the costs associated with enrollment in full-time certificate programs. The Financial Aid Office provides information for grants, scholarships, and VA education benefits. Bridgerland Technical College does not participate in or endorse any loan program. The Financial Aid Office is located at the Main Campus, 1301 North 600 West.
Estimated Tuition & Fees
Course fees may vary.
Pell Eligible: Yes
Estimated Monthly Payment:
Hours per Week
Cohorts begin in January and June
A Little About Bridgerland Technical College
The mission of the Bridgerland Technical College is to deliver competency-based, employer-guided career and technical education to both secondary and post-secondary students through traditional and technology-enhanced methodologies.
Get In Touch
View Our Site
Careers at BTECH
Hours of Operation
Logan Campus - Main
Monday: 8 am - 4:30 pm
Tuesday: 8 am - 6 pm
Wednesday: 8 am - 6 pm
Thursday: 8 am - 4:30 pm
Friday: 8 am - 4 pm
Brigham City Branch Campus
Monday: 7:30 am - 4 pm
Tuesday: 7:30 am - 4 pm
Wednesday: 7:30 am - 4 pm
Thursday: 7:30 am - 4 pm
Friday: 7:30 am - 3 pm
Logan Campus - Main (Office)
1301 North 600 West
Logan, UT 84321
Toll Free: 866-701-1100